Wednesday, June 7, 2023
HomeNationPunjab Polls: Voting to commence at 7am

Punjab Polls: Voting to commence at 7am

Punjab is all set to vote for the next government in power tomorrow. The one day poll for 117 assembly seats will begin at 7 am and conclude at 6 pm.

A total of 1,304 candidates, including 93 women will contest for the assembly seats in the 23 different districts in the state. During 2017 elections, the battle was won by Congress with a landslide victory of getting 77 seats defeating the BJP- SAD alliance in the state. This time the election is being viewed as a three tire struggle between Congress-BJP-and AAP.

Here’s a list of key constituencies and candidates:

  • Congress Navjot Singh Sidhu (contesting from Amritsar)
  • AAP Bhagwant Mann (contesting from Dhuri)
  • Congress Charanjit Singh Channi (contesting from Bhadaur, Chamkaur Sahib seats)
  • SAD Sukhbir Singh Badal (contesting from Jalalabada)
  • Punjab Lok Congress Capt Amarinder Singh (contesting from Patiala)
  • Parakash Singh Badal (contesting from Lambi)
  • Congress Sukhpal Khair (contesting from Bholuth)
  • AAP Kulwant Singh (contesting from Mohali).

On one hand, BJP is trying to do damage control after the massive backlash they received during the farmers’ protest by promising various reservation policies in the state. On the other hand, Congress is focusing on getting mileage out of farmers protests by promising to solve the age-old MSP (Minimum Support Price) demand. While the AAP is trying to sell its Delhi model of education and health in Punjab.

Congress has put Channi in the forefront as CM candidate for Punjab keeping in mind the Dalit vote bank in the state which is 31% of the total Punjab population. AAP has selected Bhagwant Mann as the CM candidate, however, BJP, who is getting support from Cpt. Amarinder Singh is yet to disclose all his cards in the state.

The results will be declared on March 10th.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisment -

Most Popular

Recent Comments