UP Polls: 53.31% voter turnout recorded till 5PM


53.31% voter turnout recorded till 5PM for phase VI of voting in UP state elections. Counting will take place on March 10.

46.70% voter turnout recorded till 3 pm during ongoing polling across 10 districts in the sixth phase.

Ambedkar Nagar at 52.40% saw the highest turnout so far. The turnout at other districts was- Kushinagar at 48.49%, Basti at 46.49%, Sant Kabir Nagar at 44.67%, Gorakhpur at 46.44%, Siddharth Nagar recorded 45.33%, Ballia at 46.48, Deoria at 45.35% Maharajganj at 47.54% and Balrampur at 42.67% till 3PM today.

36.33% voters turnout was recorded till 1 pm during ongoing polling across 10 districts in the sixth phase.

Ambedkar Nagar at 40.60% saw the highest turnout so far followed by Kushinagar at 39.36, followed by Basti at 37.48%, Gorakhpur at 36.63%, Siddharth Nagar recorded 36.51%, Ballia at 36.39, Maharajganj at 35.32% Balrampur recorded the lowest turnout at 29.89% voter turnout till 1PM.

21.79% voter turnout recorded till 11 am during ongoing polling across 10 districts in the sixth phase.

Siddharth Nagar recorded 23.42%, Ambedkar Nagar 23.10%, Basti 23.33% and Kushinagar 23.24% voter turnout till 11 AM.

Voting for UP polls-phase VI began at 7AM this morning. CM Adityanath Yogi was one of the first ones to cast his vote in his constituency in Gorakhpur.

This 6th phase is being considered as a prominent event, as the strongest candidate and current Chief Minister from Bhartiya Janata Party, Yogi Adityanath will be contesting from the Gorakhpur constituency. Gorakhpur constituency is considered to be a strong ground for Yogi and he won from Gorakhpur last time also, hence the party was optimistic and ensured another win of Yogi from the same constituency.

Meanwhile, Over 2.14 crore voters are eligible to exercise their voting rights in these ten districts which have 57 seats. The constituents apart from Gorakhpur are Ambedkar Nagar, Balrampur, Siddharthnagar, Basti, Sant Kabir Nagar, Maharajganj, Gorakhpur, Kushinagar, Deoria and Ballia. A total of 676 candidates will be contesting in the 6th phase.

While addressing a rally in Gorakhpur yesterday, Yogi tweeted, “The ‘Jai Ghosh’ of the BJP is an attack on the ill-intentioned plans of the ghastly familyists, from the innumerable groans of the nationalist people of my Gorakhpur’s Sahjanwan region. ‘Ram-Rashtra’ is seated in the heart of the people here. Good governance and development are sure to win at every booth here… Thanks, Sahajanwan people!”

On the other hand, the opposition leader from Samajwadi Party, Akhilesh Yadav is also confident about uprooting the BJP stronghold from Gorakhpur.

The results will be announced on March 10th.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here