Friday, February 3, 2023
HomeUncategorizedBJP releases list of candidates for Manipur assembly elections

BJP releases list of candidates for Manipur assembly elections


On Sunday, the Bhartiya Janata Party (BJP) announced that they will be contesting all the 60 seats of Manipur for the upcoming assembly election in the state.

The assembly polls will be held in two phases. In the first phase, polling will be held on 27 February in 38 assembly seats and in the second phase polling will be held on 3 March in 22 Assembly constituencies.

Union minister and state election in-charge Bhupender Yadav along with state in-charge Dr Sambit Patra released the party’s candidate list in a press conference.

Points to Notice

The current Chief Minister N Biren Singh will contest from the “Heingang” Assembly constituency.

Along with this, BJP has given tickets to three women candidates — Nemcha Kipgen from Kangpokpi, SS Olish from Chandel and Soraisam Kebi Devi from Naoriyapakhanglakpa.

Former IAS officers will also be contesting on BJP ticket — Dinganglung Gangmei (Dipu) from Nungba, Yengkhom Surchandra Singh from Kakching and Raghumani Singh from Uripok, also got tickets from BJP to contest for the assembly poll.

Last time, Congress emerged as the single largest party in the state with 28 seats. However, they failed to form a government as BJP with 21 seats formed a coalition government with other regional parties and independent MLAs.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisment -

Most Popular

Recent Comments