Congress appoints 23 general secretaries, 140 secretaries for Chhattisgarh

New Delhi [India]: Congress president Mallikarjun Kharge on Thursday appointed general secretaries and secretaries for Chhattisgarh.

Ahead of Chhattisgarh assembly polls due later this year, the party has named 23 general secretaries, 140 secretaries and a seven-member executive committee for Chhattisgarh.

“Congress President has approved the proposal for the appointment of General Secretaries and Secretaries, and the constitution of Executive Committee of Chhattisgarh Pradesh Congress Committee with immediate effect,” party general secretary (organisation) KC Venugopal said.

Among the general secretaries in Chhattisgarh include Prashant Mishra, Malkit Singh Gaidu, Deepak Mishra, Naresh Thakur, Ravi Ghosh, Vasudev Yadav and others.

Earlier, Kharge announced the members of the new Congress Working Committee (CWC) which has a total of 39 leaders including Shashi Tharoor, Rahul Gandhi, Sachin Pilot, Adhir Ranjan Choudhary, Jairam Ramesh, Naseer Hussain, Alka Lamba, Supriya Srinate, Pawan Khera among others.

Moreover, the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) has also released its first list of 21 candidates for the Chhattisgarh assembly polls, even before the announcement of elections.

Five states – Chhattisgarh, Madhya Pradesh, Rajasthan, Telangana and Mizoram – will go to the polls by the end of this year. BJP is in power in Madhya Pradesh.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Most Popular

To Top