India Announces 15-Member Squad for Zimbabwe T20I Series; Shubman Gill to Lead


The Men’s Selection Committee has announced a 15-member squad for India’s upcoming tour of Zimbabwe for a five-match T20I series, starting on July 6.

Opener Shubman Gill has been appointed as the captain and will lead a new-look Indian side for the series, following the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2024. The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) stated in an official release, “India will visit Harare in the first week of July to participate in a 5-match T20I series against the hosts.”

After the ICC T20 World Cup 2024 concludes, India will shift its focus to the T20I series against Zimbabwe, with the first game to be held at Harare Sports Club on July 6.

The squad features only two players from the main T20 World Cup squad: Yashasvi Jaiswal and Sanju Samson. The rest of the World Cup squad members have been rested. Players like Rinku Singh, Avesh Khan, and Khaleel Ahmed, who were on the reserves list for the World Cup, have also been included in the squad.

Several promising young players who have impressed in the Indian Premier League (IPL) and domestic cricket over the past year have received call-ups. Abhishek Sharma, Nitish Reddy, Riyan Parag, and Tushar Deshpande have been rewarded with maiden call-ups following their impressive performances in IPL 2024.

The team includes two spin options: Ravi Bishnoi and Washington Sundar. The pace attack will be led by Mukesh Kumar, Avesh Khan, Deshpande, and Khaleel Ahmed. Nitish Reddy, a pace-bowling all-rounder, has been fast-tracked into the squad after a stellar season with Sunrisers Hyderabad.

Dhruv Jurel and Sanju Samson, who haven’t played in a T20 World Cup match yet, will compete for a spot in the starting lineup.

The first match of the series will be played on July 6 at the Harare Sports Club, with the second match scheduled at the same venue the next day. The final T20I will take place on July 14 at Harare Sports Club.

India’s squad for the T20I series against Zimbabwe: Shubman Gill (c), Yashasvi Jaiswal, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Abhishek Sharma, Rinku Singh, Sanju Samson (WK), Dhruv Jurel (WK), Nitish Reddy, Riyan Parag, Washington Sundar, Ravi Bishnoi, Avesh Khan, Khaleel Ahmed, Mukesh Kumar, and Tushar Deshpande.

Related articles

Recent articles