38.1 C

IPL 2024: Mumbai Indians concede 18-run loss against LSG


Rohit Sharma and Naman Dhir’s impressive performances went in vain as Mumbai Indians (MI) suffered an 18-run defeat against Lucknow Super Giants (LSG) in their IPL 2024 clash at the Wankhede Stadium on Friday.

Chasing a challenging target of 215, MI started strong with openers Rohit Sharma and Dewald Brevis. Despite a brief rain interruption after the fourth over, the momentum continued with Rohit scoring 68 runs off 38 balls, including 10 fours and 3 sixes, and Brevis contributing 23 runs off 20 balls. Their partnership of 88 runs set a promising tone for MI.

However, the innings took a turn when Naveen-ul-Haq dismissed Brevis in the ninth over. Suryakumar Yadav’s departure for a three-ball duck in the 10th over, bowled by Krunal Pandya, further dented MI’s chase. Ravi Bishnoi then struck a crucial blow by removing Rohit Sharma in the 11th over, shifting the match’s momentum towards LSG.

MI skipper Hardik Pandya and Nehal Wadhera attempted a recovery but were dismissed by Mohsin Khan and Bishnoi respectively. Naman Dhir’s unbeaten 62 off 28 balls, which included 4 fours and 5 sixes, offered a glimmer of hope. However, with wickets falling around him and Ishan Kishan (14 off 15 balls) getting out in the final over, MI’s efforts fell short.

Naveen-ul-Haq and Ravi Bishnoi led the LSG bowling attack, each claiming two wickets, while Krunal Pandya and Mohsin Khan took one wicket apiece.

Earlier in the match, LSG set a formidable total of 214/6. Despite losing Devdutt Padikkal early, KL Rahul (55 off 41 balls) and Marcus Stoinis (28 off 20 balls) stabilized the innings. The highlight of the innings was Nicholas Pooran’s explosive 75 off 29 balls, featuring 8 sixes and 5 fours, which powered LSG past the 200-run mark. Contributions from Krunal Pandya and Ayush Badoni ensured a strong finish.

Nuwan Thushara and Piyush Chawla were the standout bowlers for MI, each taking three wickets.

Related articles

Recent articles