Thursday, February 2, 2023
HomeNationIPL Auction 2022 to take place in Bengaluru on 12 and 13...

IPL Auction 2022 to take place in Bengaluru on 12 and 13 February


The official time and date for the 2022 IPL auction have been released. Bengaluru will host the event on February 12 and 13.

Major changes in this Year’s IPL Auction

The sponsorship has changed from Vivo to Tata, and the IPL will now be known as the Tata IPL beginning in the 2022 season. the auction will be broadcasted live on the star sports network starting at 11 am.

Season 15 now has ten teams, thanks to the addition of two new clubs. It is projected that 74 matches will be played.

the official Twitter handle of IPL announced the date and venue on Twitter.

Number of players to go down the Hammer

For the IPL 2022 mega auction, the BCCI has finalised a list of 590 players. There are370 Indian players and 270 international players among them. The international players are from a variety of countries, including Australia, Afghanistan and Bangladesh.

England, South Africa, and Sri Lanka. The ten franchises have chosen a total of 33 players for their teams so far.

A few teams are still seeking captains, while others are looking for specialists in other areas of the game. According to reports, the IPL Auction 2022 will be the final leg of the mega auctions. The captains of the two new franchises have already been  assigned.

KL Rahul will captain Lucknow, while Hardik Pandya will captain Ahmedabad. Mumbai Indians, Delhi Capitals and Rajasthan royals have assigned captains as well.

Only the likes of teams RCB, KKR are left without captains. Post auction, a team’s 

squad can have a maximum of 25 players and a minimum of 18 players. The IPL  has held three mega auctions in the past- 2011, 2014, and 2018. Franchises  were allowed to retain a maximum of three players in the 2018 mega auction.

Players retained by their respective teams

While some major names like RCB’s Virat Kohli and MI’s Rohit Sharma were retained by their respective teams, R Ashwin, Shreyas Iyer, Shikhar Dhawan, Pat Cummins, and Kagiso Rabada, to name a few, would be in high demand during the two days.

RCB: Virat Kohli (Rs 15 crores) Glenn Maxwell (Rs 11 crores) and Mohammad Siraj (Rs 7 crores) have been retained by team RCB

MI: Rohit Sharma (16 crores), Jasprit Bumrah (12 crores), Suryakumar Yadav (8 crores), Kieron Pollard (6 crores) stay with Mumbai Indian.

PBKS: Mayank Agarwal (Rs 14 crore), Arshdeep Singh (uncapped) (Rs 4 crore) remain with Punjab.

SRH: Kane Williamson (Rs 14 crore), Umran Malik (uncapped, Rs 4 crore), Abdul Samad (Uncapped, Rs 4 crores) will continue with team Hyderabad.

CSK: Ravindra Jadeja (Rs 16 crore), MS Dhoni (Rs 12 crore), Moeen Ali (Rs 8 crore), Ruturaj Gaikwad  (Rs 6 crores) stay with Chennai Super kings

DC: Rishabh Pant (Rs 16 crore), Axar Patel (Rs 9 crore), Prithvi Shaw(Rs 7.5 crore) and Anrich  Nortje (Rs 6.5 crore) will keep playing for Delhi.

RR: Sanju Samson (Rs 14 crore), Jos Buttler (Rs 10 crore) and Yashasvi Jaiswal (Uncapped, Rs 4 crore) have been retained by Rajasthan Royals.

KKR: Sunil Narine (Rs 12 crore), Andre Russell (Rs 8 crore), Varun Chakravarthy (Rs 8 crore) and Venkatesh Iyer (Rs 6 crore) stay with KKR.

The two new teams Ahmedabad were allowed to buy three players each ahead of the mega auction.

Total purse available to each team

Mumbai Indians: Rs 48 crore (21/7)

Chennai Super Kings: Rs 48 crore (21/7)

Kolkata Knight Riders: Rs 56 crore (21/6)

Delhi Capitals: Rs 51 crore (21/7)

Rajasthan Royals: Rs 62 crore (22/7)

Royal Challengers Bangalore: Rs 57 crore (22/7)

Sunrisers Hyderabad: Rs 68 crore (22/7)

Punjab Kings: Rs 74 crore (23/8)

Luckow Super Giants: Rs 59.8 crore (22/7)

Team Ahmedabad: Rs 52 crore (22/7)

There are eight base prices that the players signing up for the auction can choose from — Rs 2 crore, Rs 1.5 crore, Rs 1 crore, Rs 75 lakh, Rs 50 lakh, Rs 40 lakh, Rs 30 lakh and Rs 20 lakh.

New teams added in this year’s auction

The two new franchises in this year’s major auction are Lucknow and Ahmedabad.  While Lucknow named their squad the Lucknow Super Giants ahead of the auction,  Ahmedabad has yet to release the name of the team.

RTM has been withdrawn from this year’s BCCI player auction. A Right to Match card allows a franchise to repurchase a player they have released at the highest bidding price in the auctiion



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisment -

Most Popular

Recent Comments