38.1 C

Let’s Carry Out Our Duty as Indians”: SRK Urges Voters to Get Fingers Inked Ahead of Phase 5


Superstar Shah Rukh Khan has made a heartfelt appeal for citizens to exercise their democratic right and vote in the ongoing Lok Sabha elections. Taking to social media platform X on Saturday, SRK encouraged everyone to participate in the electoral process, particularly focusing on the upcoming Phase 5 of the elections in Maharashtra.

“As responsible Indian citizens, we must exercise our right to vote this Monday in Maharashtra. Let’s carry out our duty as Indians and vote keeping our country’s best interests in mind. Go forth Promote, our right to Vote,” SRK wrote.

The voting date for Phase 5 in Maharashtra is set for May 20, and SRK’s message serves as a timely reminder for his followers. His post resonated widely, with fans sharing clips from his blockbuster movie ‘Jawan’, where he delivered a powerful monologue about the importance of voting. In the film, SRK emphasizes electing candidates who are unbiased and dedicated to public service, urging voters to ask politicians about their plans for healthcare, employment, and other essential services over the next five years.

On Friday, SRK’s close friend and fellow superstar Salman Khan also made a unique appeal to voters. “I exercise 365 days a year no matter what, and now I’m going to exercise my right to vote on the 20th of May no matter what. So do whatever you want to do man, but go and vote and don’t trouble your Bharat Mata… Bharat Mata ki Jai,” Salman wrote on X.

Phase 5 of the Lok Sabha elections will see voting in six Mumbai constituencies: Mumbai North, Mumbai North West, Mumbai North East, Mumbai North Central, Mumbai South, and Mumbai South Central. Additionally, other constituencies in Maharashtra such as Dhule, Dindori, Nashik, Kalyan, Palghar, Bhiwandi, and Thane will also go to the polls.

Maharashtra holds 48 Lok Sabha seats, making it the second-largest state in terms of parliamentary representation after Uttar Pradesh. With the first four phases of voting already completed, the fifth phase will take place on May 20. The 2024 Lok Sabha elections are being conducted in seven phases from April 19 to June 1, with the counting of votes and results set to be declared on June 4.

Related articles

Recent articles