Polling Live Update: 78.03% turnout till 5 pm


Polling officials seal Electronic Voting Machines (EVM) and VVPATs after the conclusion of the first phase of Manipur Assembly elections 78.03% voters turnout recorded till 5 pm in the first phase of Manipur Elections.

Voting turnout was recorded as 67.53% till 3 pm in Manipur. The highest turnout was recorded at Kangpokpi with 76.74% and the lowest was recorded at Churachandpur with 61.35%. The election commission concluded the voting process in the state at 4 pm.

48.88 % voters turnout recorded till 1 pm in the first phase of Manipur elections.

27.34% voters turnout recorded till 11 am in the first phase of Manipur elections.

8.94% voters turnout recorded till 9.30 am in the first phase of Manipur elections.

Voting for the first phase of the Manipur assembly polls for 38 seats in five electoral districts of Imphal West, Imphal East, Bishnupur, Kangpokpi, and Churachandpur began at 7 am today.

A total of 173 candidates are in the fray for the poll. The first phase will conclude at 4 pm. The second phase voting will be held on March 5th.

CM and BJP candidate from Heingang, N Biren Singh reached to cast his vote at Shrivan High School in Imphal. Singh is confident about BJP’s return in the state with a full majority. “BJP will win 30 out of 38 in 1st phase,” said Chief Minister N Biren Singh.

Meanwhile, Manipur Governor La Ganesan reached Imphal to cast his vote and urged all the citizens to come out and vote. “I appeal to all people of Manipur that they should exercise their franchise because in our country democracy is prevailing & sign of democracy is the election,” said Governor.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here