Rashid Khan Sets Record for Most Four-Wicket Hauls in Men’s T20Is


Afghanistan spinner and captain Rashid Khan has set a remarkable record by becoming the player with the most four-wicket hauls in Men’s T20Is.

Rashid achieved this milestone during Afghanistan’s eight-run victory over Bangladesh in the Super Eights match of the T20 World Cup 2024 at the Arnos Vale Ground. The 25-year-old now has nine four-wicket hauls in Men’s T20Is.

Bangladesh all-rounder Shakib Al Hasan ranks second on the list with eight four-wicket hauls, while Uganda’s Henry Ssenyondo holds the third place with seven.

In the match against Bangladesh, Rashid Khan picked up four wickets for 23 runs in his four-over spell, maintaining an economy rate of 5.80. He dismissed Soumya Sarkar, Towhid Hridoy, Mahmudullah, and Rishad Hossain in the second innings.

Recapping the match, Afghanistan chose to bat first after winning the toss. Rahmanullah Gurbaz played a crucial innings, scoring 43 runs off 55 balls with three fours and one six, helping Afghanistan to a total of 115/5. Ibrahim Zadran added 18 runs off 29 balls, and Rashid Khan contributed with a quick 19* off 10 balls, including three sixes, in the final stage of the innings. Rishad Hossain was the standout bowler for Bangladesh, taking three wickets for 26 runs in his four-over spell.

The second innings was reduced to 19 overs due to rain, setting a revised target of 114 runs for Bangladesh. Litton Das was the only standout batter for Bangladesh, scoring an unbeaten 54 runs off 49 balls, including five fours and one six.

Naveen-ul-Haq and Rashid Khan each claimed four wickets in their respective spells, while Fazalhaq Farooqi and Gulbadin Naib took one wicket each, securing an eight-run victory for Afghanistan.

This defeat also marked the end of Australia’s campaign in the tournament. Led by Mitchell Marsh, Australia finished third in Group 1 of the Super Eights with just two points, thus being eliminated from the competition.

Brief score: Afghanistan 115/5 (Rahmanullah Gurbaz 43, Rashid Khan 19*, Ibrahim Zadran 18; Rishad Hossain 3/26) defeated Bangladesh 105 (Litton Das 54*, Towhid Hridoy 14, Soumya Sarkar 10; Rashid Khan 4/23).

Related articles

Recent articles