Rohit Sharma: The Only Player to Win T20 World Cups in 2007 and 2024


Rohit Sharma has etched his name in cricket history as the only player to win T20 World Cups both in 2007 and 2024.

In 2007, under the captaincy of Mahendra Singh Dhoni, a young Rohit Sharma played a pivotal role in India’s first T20 World Cup victory. Seventeen years later, in 2024, he led Team India to their second T20 World Cup title, ending a 13-year-long drought.

Rohit Sharma’s journey has been remarkable. He is the only cricketer to have debuted in a T20 World Cup-winning team and then to retire after leading his team to another T20 World Cup triumph. His leadership and performance have been instrumental in India’s success on the international stage.

In a heartfelt message, Rohit dedicated the victory to the entire nation, acknowledging the support of the fans and the hard work of the players and support staff. “This trophy is for the entire nation. Along with all the players who have represented the country, we want to dedicate it to our fans who have waited for 11 years,” said Rohit during the celebration event at Wankhede Stadium.

Rohit’s journey from a young player in 2007 to the captain in 2024 is a testament to his dedication and skill. His retirement marks the end of an era, but his contributions to Indian cricket will be remembered forever.

Related articles

Recent articles